March 9 – Denim + Lace

I have been searching and searching for the perfect denim jacket.  Why?  I am DYING to make a denim + lace shirt, jacket, or vest! Look at these pictures from my Pinterest boardDIY Clothing and tell me YOU don’t want one too! 😉

Awesome right!?  But the search for the perfect denim piece was hard.  It had to be lightweight, faded, and pale blue.  I also wanted it to have a flattering fit and possibly even front pockets – so I could rip them off and put lace in their place. The jean jackets I came across were all dark and heavy.  I had to adjust the concept slightly when I found this medium blue, light-weight denim VEST.

BEFORE:  IMG_0300

It obviously needed a lot of work and attention to turn it from that ^ into a beautiful lace + denim vest.  I took out my trusty seam ripper and removed the front pocket and the ribbon around the inside of the collar.  I then cut out the back of the vest – leaving a 1/2 inch of the original garment all the way around so I would have something to sew the lace to.  I used this piece I cut out to make the pattern for the lace insert.  I also used the pocket I removed as a pattern for a new lace pocket.  After sewing these lace elements onto my denim vest I finally have an adorable lace + denim vest for Spring!

AFTER:  IMG_0358 IMG_0359

I think I will also remove the brown/tan buttons and switch them out for white ones, but I couldn’t wait to show you all this new wardrobe piece I have been dreaming of for weeks!  I will add a picture of me wearing it when I find/make the perfect pants to wear with them…

Check out my March 10 post for another lace + denim vest post!  I need some helping deciding what to do with it – so comments are welcome and appreciated!

One thought on “March 9 – Denim + Lace

  1. I love this idea! Maybe I’ll do something similar with my favorite old denim jacket that I stopped wearing because it developed a hole in the elbow. 😦

Leave a Reply

